Plays from the South dominate the 8th annual Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards...

February 27, 2013 12:00:00 AM IST
MTG editorial

The Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards (META) has announced the jury panel and nominees for its 8th edition. The 10 shortlisted productions, six of which are from the south this year, will perform live at the 2013 META Festival from March 3 to 8, 2013 in the capital and the Awards will be announced on March 9, 2013. The META 2013 jury, which will view and judge the shortlisted plays, consists of eminent names like Nissar Allana, Shobha Deepak Singh, Anmol Vellani, Renu Roy, Bhanu Bharti and Pawan Maskara.


META received a whopping 312 entries this year from across the country. The preliminary selection committee has chosen the 10 best productions, nominated across 13 categories that recognize diverse aspects of a theatre production.

The nominated plays are as follows:

1. AFTER THE SILENCE (Directed by Martin John & Produced by Sadhna - Center for Creative Practice)

2. FEVICOL (Directed by Jeetrai Hansda & Produced by Maidi's Artist Association of Tribal)

3. GASHA (Directed by Abhishek Mazumdar & Produced by Indian Ensemble)

4. KIZHAVANUM KADALUM (Directed by Sasidharan Naduvil & Produced by Rembrance Theatre Group)

5. MATTE EKLAVYA (Directed by Satyabrata Rout & Produced by Aadima Ranga Tanda)

6. MIRUDAVIDUSHAGAM (Directed by S. Murugaboopathy & Produced by Manal Magudi)

7. THE PRIESTESS (Directed by Ningthounja Deepa & Produced by NT Theatre)

8. SAVITRI - DANCING IN THE FOREST OF DEATH (Directed by J Ed Araiza & Produced by Thresh)

9. SHILLAK (Directed by Pradeep Vaiddya & Produced by Aasakta Kalamanch)

10. SO MANY SOCKS (Directed by Quasar Thakore Padamsee & Produced by Q Theatre Productions)

Speaking about the nominations, Ravi Dubey, Creative Director of META said, "I am very proud to witness META's enriching journey, now in its 8th edition, scanning the country for the best talent in theatre. META now has a footprint across the length and breadth of India and that is visible from the rising number of entries we get every year. META received 312 entries this year and it has been quite a challenge to shortlist the 10 plays that have made the cut this year, outstanding in their own individual right. Fans from across the country are welcome to witness this wonderful celebration of Indian Theatre, which will be staged in the capital."

Jay Shah, Head, Cultural Outreach, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. said, "We were overwhelmed with the number of entries this year and are delighted to present the shortlisted plays to the audience, through the META Festival and Awards. The final list is quite diverse in content, language and style, showcasing some extraordinary work from across the country - from Manipur to Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Jharkhand. META aims to bring these wonderful productions to a common platform to celebrate the richness and diversity of Indian Theatre."

This jury will adjudge winners from across the following 13 categories:

  • Best Play

  • Best Director

  • Best Stage Design

  • Best Lighting Director

  • Best Innovative Sound Design

  • Best Costume Design

  • Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male)

  • Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female)

  • Best Supporting Actor (Male)

  • Best Supporting Actor (Female)

  • Best Original Script

  • Best Ensemble

  • Best Choreographer
The shortlisted productions will perform live in Delhi from March 3 2013 till March 8, 2013 during the META Festival in New Delhi, which will be open to the public. The plays will be staged at the Little Theatre Group Auditorium (LTG) at 5:30 pm and at the Kamani Auditorium at 7:30 pm every day. The awards night will be held on March 9 2013 at the Taj Mahal Hotel, No. 1 Man Singh Road. For more information on the nominees, please visit

read / post your comments

   More on Theatre Update
- Lists Of Plays Happening This Weekend (new)
- Don't miss: Ila Arun - K K Raina's AJAATSHATRU
- Ebrahim Alkazi's Biography Released
- Theatre Community Pays Tribute to Begum Razia Baig
- World Theatre Day 2024 message by Jon FOSSE
- WORLD THEATRE DAY 2024: Check Out what theatre fraternity has to speak
- Bhausaheb Hindi Ekanki Natya Spardha 2024
- META Finalists Compete at Festival
- Aarambh's Rangmanch ka Rang-Punch
- Aarambh Mumbai's 15-Year Fiesta
- Vagina Monologues now in Gujarati
- Government's Scholarship Scheme
- Rituraj Singh, RIP
- Raj Bisaria, RIP
   Theatre Update Archives

You can now subscribe to our MumbaiTheatreGuide WhatsApp channel

   Discussion Board


Theatre Workshops
Register a workshop | View all workshops


About Us | Feedback | Contact Us | Write to us | Careers | Free Updates via SMS
List Your Play